Utah Marijuana Laws
Utah laws do not allow for medical marijuana.
Utah makes no exemption in its laws for individuals using medical marijuana. Utah laws also make no exemption for visitors from another state who have a valid marijuana prescription, who take the drug with them when they travel to Utah. In addition, it is illegal to be found with ANY trace of marijuana in your system while driving in Utah, even if said driver has a valid marijuana prescription from another state.
Marijuana possession in Utah can cause you to lose your driver's license in another state
If you get caught with marijuana in Utah, you could lose your drivers license for six months on a first offense! And, not all prosecutors in Utah will give you a "plea in abeyance," so that your license is saved. Even in states where smoking marijuana is legal, they are likely to honor Utahs drivers license suspension. There is an interstate agreement to share information about license suspensions and traffic violations called "The Driver License Compact". Although you may not have a drivers license in Utah, your home state may honor what Utah does, even if it would not have been a violation in your own state. Read More
Utah has "Zero Tolerance" Per Se Laws for DUID (Driving Under the Influence of Drugs).
Utah has enacted a "Zero Tolerance" stance for DUID (Driving Under the Influence of Drugs), which means that your body cannot contain ANY amount of detectable marijuana or its metabolites and be considered legally eligible to drive in the state of Utah. A motorist found with ANY TRACE AMOUNT of cannabis metabolites in his or her system is subject to mandatory a 48-hour long imprisonment upon arrest for a first offense, and will be sentenced to no more than six months of incarceration upon conviction.
Tax stamps are to be affixed to contraband, as required by state law.
The state of Utah has enacted a tax stamp law for the sale and distribution of marijuana. This law mandates that anyone who possesses marijuana must, by law, purchase and attach state-issued stamps onto the marijuana.
The penalties for marijuana-related convictions can be severe.
There are heavy penalties for marijuana-related convictions which include time in prison and/or fines. With every marijuana-related conviction, your drivers license will be suspended for 6 months.
Read more about marijuana penalties.
If you've been charged with a marijuana offense, you need an attorney.
Enlisting the aid of an attorney provides you the best possible chance at a dismissal of charges and/or less severe penalty. Having an attorney to defend you is important, because the attorney will know your rights under the law and will fight to protect those rights. Attorneys will use all possible mitigating factors (i.e. reasons why a crime may be thrown out or why charges are reduced) so that your penalties are not harsher than they would be without a competent attorney at your side.
You need an attorney with experience, knowledge, and expertise. The marijuana criminal defense lawyers at Greg Smith & Associates are experts at defending against marijuana charges. They are compassionate, and understand your shock. They are personally available by cell, text, and email. They will get you through this. Contact a defense attorney now at 801-651-1512 for a free consultation day or night, even on weekends and holidays.
Although we do our best to keep the information on this site current, Utahs laws are constantly changing. That means what you are reading represents our opinions only on the date they were submitted, and the laws may have changed since then, and sometimes those changes can be drastic. For that reason, you cannot rely upon what you are reading to be accurate when it comes to your legal matter. Please call us, so that we can discuss the facts of your current situation, and double check the status of the laws that apply to you. In other words, what you read here is not legal advice, and should not be relied upon. There is no attorney-client relationship until we have a signed agreement with you.